1873 illustration of Edwin Waller's layout for Austin

A Travis County History Timeline

August 9, 1809 – William Barret Travis, namesake of Travis County, is born.

March 2, 1836 – The Texas Declaration of Independence is adopted at Washington-on-the-Brazos, establishing the Republic of Texas.

March 6, 1836 – William Barret Travis dies at the Alamo.

August 1, 1839 – The first sale of town lots in the new capital of the Republic, which is named for Stephen F. Austin, is held.

December 27, 1839 – The City of Austin is created by the Republic of Texas Congress.

January 19, 1840 – Austin is approved as the capital of the Republic of Texas.

January 25, 1840 – Travis County is established by the Republic of Texas Congress.

February 21, 1840 – The first election for county officials is held.

February 28, 1845 – The Republic of Texas is annexed by the United States.

December 29, 1845 – Texas becomes the 28th state.

1855 – The first official Travis County Courthouse is constructed at 4th and Guadalupe.

1876 – The second Travis County Courthouse is constructed at 11th and Congress Avenue.

April 14, 1930 – Judge George S. Mathews and the Commissioners Court buy land at 10th and Guadalupe for the construction of the third Travis County Courthouse.

October 20, 1930 – The cornerstone is laid for the third Travis County Courthouse.

June 27, 1931 – The third Travis County courthouse officially opens.

June 15, 1935 – A flood which covers much of downtown Austin prompts the creation creation of the Lower Colorado River Authority and the building of several dams.

May 16, 1946 – Heman Marion Sweatt files suit against University of Texas President T.S. Painter in Travis County District Court, challenging the policy of racial segregation in schools.

June 5, 1950 – The U.S. Supreme Court rules on Sweatt v. Painter, overturning the lower court’s decision.

July 31, 1963 – The Travis County flag, designed by Jesse McIlroy Smith, is adopted as the official emblem.

June 16, 1975 – The Travis County seal, as drawn by County Treasurer Johnny Crow, is adopted.

October 21, 2005 – The Travis County Courthouse is renamed the Heman Marion Sweatt Travis County Courthouse